Kitchen Change-Up!

I decided to forego Meatless Monday this week and changed it up so I could try out a couple new recipes! Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of people trying sweet potato buns on their burgers and I wanted to give it a go. I found a recipe for spiralized sweet potato latkes that I thought would make perfect buns! I love combining ideas! Come Monday evening, I was excited to get cooking. I grabbed my little Vegetti and got to work! I know, I know…the Vegetti is a poor substitute for the Spiralizer, but I wasn’t sure how much I’d actually use it so I went the small/cheap route to use it as a tester. Turns out, I am loving it! After the sweet potatoes stained it (it now looks a little pink), I have a feeling I will be upgrading to the real deal soon! 

IMG_2496

Back to the lesson at hand (bonus points if you guess the reference!). I found the recipe on Skinnytaste.com and it was really easy to follow, as most of their recipes are. I had just about everything I needed at home already, so I picked up a few small sweet potatoes at Trader Joe’s. I prepared the mix for the latkes and let it sit in the fridge for a few minutes while I got my spicy burgers together. 

IMG_2497

Since I don’t eat red meat, I perused the interwebs for a turkey burger recipe that would go well with the sweet potato buns and voila! I found this one on The Lean Clean Eating Machine blog site. Simpatico. Side note: this blog has so many recipes I now want to try! The author, Danielle, posts whole food recipes that are perfect for those who love lots of flavor! Luckily, the recipe called for items I generally keep in my fridge/cupboard, so I was all set! I did not take a picture of the burger mix because, well it looks incredibly unappealing, if you ask me. So I put them in the oven to broil and got back to finishing my latkes. 

The eggs helped hold them together, and the olive oil made them a nice golden brown. Truth be told, the first batch did fall apart a bit, but I think I was too quick to flip them. Hey, I was hungry and they smelled so delicious!   

IMG_2499

The second batch, however, came out quite nicely and just in time for the burgers to be done!

The second batch, however, came out quite nicely and just in time for the burgers to be done!

IMG_2500

I put one latke bun on the bottom, added a little arugula (so peppery and delicious!) and my burger, then topped it with a little shaved Asiago cheese and some fresh avocado. Anyone who knows me knows I looooove me some avocado! This highly anticipated meal did not disappoint! The burger was just as juicy as the recipe described and much more flavorful than I’d hoped! The latke buns were crispy and the perfect addition. 

IMG_2502

Looks glorious, doesn’t it? I was inspired by my Spode plates to give myself a beautiful little presentation…and then I savored every single bite. Speaking of, those are my favorite dinner plates and I’ve been on the hunt for more of them for about 6 years now. You can find Spode china at various stores like Macy’s and Bed Bath and Beyond, but this particular collection has been hard to find! I suppose that’s what happens when you buy them at Tuesday Morning. The search continues…

Anywho, if you’re looking for delicious, whole food recipes, be sure to check out The Lean Clean Eating Machine blog and Skinnytaste! They are sure to provide you with endless options and inspire ideas for mixing it up in the kitchen while keeping it healthy and whole! 

Happy kitchen experimenting!

Leave a Reply

