Eating on the Go Go Go!

If you’re anything like me, weekday mornings can get a little crazy. Getting up a 5am to get a workout in is no easy feat and having to come home and get ready for work leaves little to no time for actually making anything healthy. Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts and Dutch Bros. have only proven to be counterproductive in the battle of the bulge. Steel cut oats are a pain (unless I make them the night before) because I actually have to pay attention to them…umm, no thanks. I’m not even sure I’m awake yet. So, what’s a girl to do? An easy option is always a protein shake, or a super frothy protein latte like this one…doesn’t it look tasty?!

Frothy Protein Latte

I made that using regular coffee (you can use any coffee you like, really) and the best tasting chocolate protein powder I’ve found…Optimum Nutrition Platinum Hydrowhey in Turbo Chocolate. You can purchase it here! Pour it into your blender and let it swirl for about 30 seconds and BAM! Delicious, frothy protein latte goodness ready to be sipped…because it’s still hot coffee…but I digress. Moving on!

I figured I’d better use the egg whites I had in the fridge before they go bad, so tonight I made egg white bites! Some people call them mini crustless quiches, others call them egg white muffins…whatever you want to call them, they are really easy to make and keep well in the fridge, making them the perfect on-the-go breakfast for busy people with busy mornings. They are great with just about any greens or vegetables you have on hand and can be made with or without cheese.

Last time I made these, I used red and green bell peppers and feta cheese (which I love because it’s just salty enough), but I decided to switch it up this time. For this batch, I used All Whites egg whites, mushrooms, onion and a little bit of “taco blend” shredded cheese (yes, I changed the name to something a little more PC).

IMG_1953

About ten minutes and a little knife magic later, while the oven was making its steady climb to 350, the onion and mushrooms were diced and ready.

IMG_1954

Those bowls are pretty amazing, by the way. I found the set at Ross and they are perfect for preparing meals…various sizes for different ingredients. They aren’t fancy, but they get the job done. I use them for cooking and baking all the time! Side note: my “garbage” bowl was left out of the picture…who really wants to see that anyway, right? I’m a huge fan of the garbage bowl…I picked up that idea (as well as a few others) from a cooking demonstration I attended last year. If you are looking to take a cooking class or set up a super fun group date, check out Whisked Away!

Okay, enough with the distractions, let’s get back to why we’re here. I sprayed my mini muffin pan with olive oil cooking spray and then added the onions, mushrooms and cheese before adding the liquid egg whites. Once the egg whites were added, I topped with a few leaves of cilantro…because, who doesn’t love cilantro? Oh, you don’t? I don’t know if we can be friends…at least not the dinner party variety.

IMG_1956

I popped them in the oven for 20 minutes…the perfect amount of time to finish my glass of Syrah! Simpatico! When they came out, they whispered sweet nothings in my ear…wait, that was the wine. They did look pretty darn mouth-watering though, don’t you think?

IMG_1957

I took them out of the muffin pan and let them cool for about 15 minutes. You can place them on a cooling rack or, if you’re like me and don’t own one (don’t judge!), a simple sheet of parchment paper or aluminum foil will do. Once they are cool, you can put them in the fridge…they keep for up to 4 or 5 days! I like to put a few in a snack size ziploc bag and take them with me to work…so easy and can be eaten warm or cold, depending on your preference. You can also top with avocado or salsa for a little something extra. However you decide to dress them up, they are sure to become a go-to! Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

